top of page

Ugly Dogs Don't Cry by BB Armstrong

This book follows Kyle and Sideeq, two black boys from West London who are beginning their first year in college. I am a sucker for stories about friendship, maybe even more than I’m a sucker for stories about romantic love. My heart was fully engaged while reading this story and I will always have a soft spot for Kyle and Sideeq.


I think we can all connect with the desire to create a better life for ourselves and our loved ones, to have the success that we know we’re capable of. For me, that kind of yearning is a familiar feeling and something I shared with these two boys. Though we do not have to deal with exactly the same kind of problems.


If you want to read a book that will get tangled in your heartstrings and yearn for the best for the characters you’re reading about, be sure to pick up this story.


bottom of page