top of page

The Street Hawker’s Apprentice by Kabir Kareem-Bello

Oh, how my stomach was in knots for these two boys! Poor Temilola knows he does not belong where is but cannot remember where he does belong. Kabir Kareem-Bello did an incredible job depicting the boy’s whirlwind of emotions as he tries to survive in unfamiliar surroundings. My heart was sore for him.


And speaking of sore hearts, Vipaar! Talk about a character you grow to love. Each time the narrative switched to his perspective I liked and empathised with him more. I wanted to reach into the pages and wrap him in a tight hug. Is there anything more universal than the pursuit of a happy, fulfilling life? Following him and seeing how he had to harden himself in order to survive his harsh life broke my heart because I know there are many, many children just like him.


The Street Hawker’s Apprentice made me want to change the world so all children are free to follow their passions and don’t have to worry about the rising price of rice. The way the relationship between the two boys develops really highlights the human instinct to love and be loved in return.


I highly recommend *chef’s kiss*


bottom of page